SMI Board Members

Chairman of the board
Crosby Kemper III is executive director of the Kansas City Public Library and former CEO of UMB Financial Corporation. He co-founded and is chairman of the Show-Me Institute.
Rex Sinquefield is co-founder and former co-chairman of Dimensional Fund Advisors, Inc. He also is co-founder of the Show-Me Institute.
Vice Chairman

Louis Griesemer is president and CEO of Springfield Underground, Inc. He is past president of Parkville Stone Company in Parkville, Mo., and Barnhart Limestone in Barnhart, Mo. From 2007 to 2008, he served as chairman of the National Stone, Sand, and Gravel Association.


Bevis Schock is a lawyer in solo practice in Saint Louis. He founded the Shrink Missouri Government PAC, which challenged the constitutionality of Missouri’s campaign contribution limits before the United States Supreme Court in 2000. He handles a broad array of legal matters, including civil rights, real estate, personal injury, and criminal. He received a B.A....


Joseph Forshaw is president and CEO of Forshaw, a family-owned business founded in 1871. He has served for several years as an advisory director for Commerce Bank, and is the managing partner of several family real estate partnerships. An alumnus of Saint Louis University High School, Forshaw received both his B.A. and J.D.


Stephen Brauer is chairman and CEO of Hunter Engineering Company. From 2001 to 2003, he served as U.S. Ambassador to Belgium. He has served on numerous charitable and civic boards, including the Saint Louis Area Council of Boy Scouts, the Saint Louis Art Museum, and the Missouri Botanical Garden.

Jennifer Bukowski

Jennifer Bukowsky is a constitutional and criminal defense attorney in Columbia, Missouri. She serves on the Missouri Supreme Court’s Task Force on Criminal Justice and is on the Steering Committee of the Federalist Society–Jefferson City Lawyers Chapter. She previously served on Governor Eric Greitens’ Transition Team, and was an adjunct professor of law for the University of Missouri.


James Forsyth is president and CEO of Moto, Inc., which operates the MotoMart chain of gas stations and convenience stores. He is also president and CEO of two other family-owned businesses: Forsyth Carterville Coal Company and Missouri Real Estate. He serves on the boards of St. Luke’s Hospital, YMCA of Southwestern Illinois, and Commerce Bank of Saint Louis....


Robert Heller is a retired judge who served for 28 years on the Shannon County Circuit Court in Missouri, where he presided over a broad range of civil and criminal cases both locally and throughout the state. He has served as a member of several Missouri court-related committees and as a district chair for the Boy Scouts of America. He holds a J.D.


Megan Holekamp is a Real Estate Broker at Janet McAfee Inc., the largest independently owned luxury real estate broker in Saint Louis.  She has served on the Development Board of Edgewood Children's Center, class chair for the Parents Association at Mary Institute and Saint Louis Country Day School, and served as the Co-Chair of the Center of Creative Arts’ annual fundraising gala.

Gregg Keller

Gregg Keller is the Principal of Atlas Strategy Group and is widely regarded as one of the preeminent public affairs professionals in the country.

Michael Podgursky is a professor of economics at the University of Missouri–Columbia, where he served as department chair from 1995 to 2005.

Gerald A. Reynolds previously served as general counsel, chief compliance officer and corporate secretary for LG&E and KU Energy. He previously served as general counsel for the Eastern Division of American Water Works, Inc


Kevin Short is the co-founder and managing partner/CEO of Clayton Capital Partners, a Saint Louis based investment banking firm specializing in merger and acquisition advisement. In 2007, Thomson Financial, FactSet Mergerstat, and Investment Dealers Digest all ranked Clayton Capital Partners as a top U.S. M&A firm.